Make your own free website on Tripod.com
OFFUTT FAMILY HISTORY
Thomas Uffitt
Home
In Memoriam
Offutt Surname
William Offutt
Thomas Uffitt
Genealogy of Harold H. Offutt
Genealogy of Gertrude Desmond Offutt
Offutt Estate Today
Court Records of Prince George's County, Maryland 1696-1699
Records Through Time
DNA
Battle of Hastings
Domesday Book
Knights of the Garter
Orford Castle
Captain Andrew Offutt
Offutt Air Force Base

The first of these lists were as appeared in 1860, when SAMUEL GARDNER DRAKE, of Boston (Mass.), published his "Result of some Researches among the British Archives, for information relative to the Founders of New England." Hotten included these in his work indicating they came from the "History of Sandwich, being transcripts of records belonging to the corporations of that port."

A TRUE ROLL OR LIST

Of the names, surnames, and qualities of all such persons who have taken
passage from the town and port of Sandwich for the American
plantations, since the last certificate of such passengers returned
into the office of Dover Castle.

22d June, 1632.

THE names of such men transported to New England to the plan-
tacon there, p. cert. from Capten MASON, have tendered and
taken the oath of allegeance, according to the statute.

WILLIAM WADSWORTH.

NICO. CLARK.

JOHN TALLCOTT.

DANIEL BREWER.

JOSEPH ROBERTS.

JO. BENJAMIN.

JOHN COXSALL.

RICHARD BENJAMIN.

JOHN WATSON.

WILLIAM JAMES.

ROBERT SHELLEY.

THOMAS CARRINGTON.

WILLIAM HEATH.

WILLIAM GOODWYNN.

RICHARD ALLIS.

JOHN WHITE.

THOMAS UFFITT.

JAMES OLINSTEDD.

ISAAC MURRILL.

WILLIAM LEWES.

JOHN WITCHFIELD.

ZETH GRAUNT.

JONATHAN WADE.

NATHANIELL RICHARDS.

ROBERT BARTLETT.

EDWARD ELLMER.

JO. BROWNE.

EDWARD HOLMAR.

JOHN CHURCHMAN.

JO. TOTMAN.

TOBIE WILLET.

CHARLES GLOWER.

WILLIAM CURTIS.

 

THOMAS UFFORD

ORIGIN: Nazeing, Essex
MIGRATION: 1632 on Lyon
FIRST RESIDENCE: Roxbury
REMOVES: Springfield 1636, Wethersfield by 1640, Milford by 1644
CHURCH MEMBERSHIP: Admitted to Roxbury church as member #39 [ RChR 75]; admitted to Milford church 11 February 1645 [Milford VR Barbour 168, citing Milford Old Long Book 98].
FREEMAN: 4 March 1632/3 (as "Thomas Uffott") [ MBCR 1:367].
EDUCATION: Signed Springfield agreement of 14-16 May 1636 by mark [ NEHGR 13:297].
OFFICES: Connecticut Colony jury, 9 November 1643, September 1644 [ RPCC 24, 29; CCCR 1:95, 110].
ESTATE: In the Springfield agreement of 14-16 May 1636, Thomas Ufford was assigned a houselot between Thomas Woodford and Henry Smith [ NEHGR 13:296].
On 24 April 1641 Thomas Ufford held a house, barn and four acres in Wethersfield [ Wethersfield Hist 2:719].
On 20 August 1660 the heirs of "Thomas Uffit of Stanford" reached an agreement on his estate; these heirs were his widow, his sons Thomas Uffit (of Stratford) and John Uffit and his son-in-law Roger Terrill [ TAG 10:111, citing StTR 1:52]. In this agreement the widow of Thomas Ufford is also referred to as "widow Theale," and the agreement was signed by Joseph Theale and William Ratliff, her son and son-in-law by her first husband [ FOOF 1:601-02].
On 6 December 1660 an inventory of the estate of Thomas Uffit Sr., deceased, was presented, "so much of it as remained within the bounds of Milford and Stratford, amounting to 289 12s. 7d." attested upon oath by Thomas Uffit Jr. & John Uffitt, that this is a true inventory [ NHCR 2:418].
BIRTH: By about 1596 based on estimated date of marriage.
DEATH: Milford before 6 December 1660 (date of inventory).
MARRIAGE: (1) By about 1621 Isabel _____; "_____ Offitt the wife of Thomas Offitt" admitted to Roxbury church as member #40, immediately after her husband [ RChR 75] (with the given name Isabel a late editorial insertion, not part of the original record); admitted to Milford church January 1645 [Milford VR Barbour 168, citing Milford Old Long Book 98]; d. by 1659.
(2) By 1659 at Stamford Elizabeth (_____) Theale, widow of Nicholas; she died at Stamford on 27 December 1660 [ TAG 10:118, citing StTR 1:98].
CHILDREN:

i ABIGAIL, born say 1621; m. by 3 November 1644 Roger Terrill of Milford (named in brother Thomas's will [ Fairfield PR 3:167]) [ TAG 25:37].

ii THOMAS, bp. Nazeing, Essex, 7 September 1623; m. by 1650 Frances Kilbourne, bp. 4 September 1621, daughter of Thomas and Frances (Moody) Kilbourne [ Hale, House 653-55; Fairfield PR 3:109]; all records for Thomas of Stratford are for the son and not the father. In his will of 17 May 1683 he bequeathed to cousin Samuel, son of brother John of Milford; to wife Frances; to children of brother John Uffott; to Israel Chancy; and to children of brother Roger Terrill [ Fairfield PR 3:98].

iii JOHN, bp. Nazeing, Essex, 11 June 1626; m. (1) by 1654 Hannah Hawley; divorced soon [ NHCR 2:209-12; FOOF 1:264]; m. (2) 1657 Martha Nettleton [ NHCR 2:201-02], daughter of Samuel Nettleton [ FOOF 1:432].

COMMENTS: Thomas Ufford does not appear in Springfield records after 1636; in particular, he is not in the 13 January 1638/9 list of those contributing to the maintenance of Rev. George Moxon, or in the 24 December 1640 distribution of the second division of planting ground [ Springfield Hist 161, 167]. Since Thomas Ufford did not join Milford church until 1645, he may well have had another residence in the early 1640s, and on this basis we include the Wethersfield land record as his, rather than his son's.
Banks gives as the English origin of Thomas Ufford the parish of Newbourn in Suffolk, based on the ship money list of 1636 [ Topo Dict 158]. Thomas Ufford probably moved into Nazeing, Essex, sometime in the early 1620s, since we find there only the baptisms of his two sons, and not his marriage or the baptism of his daughter, but Newbourn seems implausibly distant.
BIBLIOGRAPHIC NOTE: Thomas Ufford is best treated by Donald Lines Jacobus in two different places [ FOOF 1:623-25; Parke-Gildersleeve 119].